Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 19th, 2010

2008 Barons de Rothschild (Lafite) Sélection Prestige

Appellation: Bordeaux Contrôlée

Tasting Notes: 60% Semillon, 40% Sauvignon Blanc.  12% ABV.  Pretty color, rich, light gold.  Nose is dominated by grapefruit, fresh and clean smelling, hint of lemon.  Attack is all citrus, then mellows out with nice mouthfeel, lemon, more grapefruit, and outstanding acid.  Clean, crisp, but interesting flavors as well.  Elegant.  Nice mouthwatering finish.  I like this a lot.

Rating: 4/5, 17/20, 90/100

Price: $12.99 at Beltway Fine Wines

A note on ratings:  I use the 100 point rating for Cellartracker, even though my palate is still developing.  As a statistics geek, I know that the variability in scores works itself out as the number of scores increases.  However, my score may not be yours or Robert Parker’s, it is simply a subjective value based on my palate.  I much prefer to use a 5 point (or star, or whatever you want to call it) scale, as it more represents my reaction to wine, which is more simple than a 100 point scale represents.  I like the 20 point scale as the more detailed score.   On this site, I will provide all three, although the most meaningful are the 5 and 20 point ratings.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,179 other followers