Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 11th, 2010

2008 Lucky Star Pinot Noir

Appellation: California

Tasting Notes: 100% Pinot Noir.  13.5% ABV.  Very light color, looks almost like a dark and cloudy rose.  Nose is dominated by fruit, with some candy/jam as well, but a touch of mushroomy funk.  Kind of interesting.  Definite fruit, cherries and strawberry, a little earthiness, then more juicy jamminess.  A little thin.  Disjointed.  Dry finish that is almost metallic with more jam.  Has some good components but doesn’t come together.  Not much to get excited about here for me.

Rating: 2/5, 11/20, 79/100

Price: $11.99 at Bin 604

A note on ratings:  I use the 100 point rating for Cellartracker, even though my palate is still developing.  As a statistics geek, I know that the variability in scores works itself out as the number of scores increases.  However, my score may not be yours or Robert Parker’s, it is simply a subjective value based on my palate.  I much prefer to use a 5 point (or star, or whatever you want to call it) scale, as it more represents my reaction to wine, which is more simple than a 100 point scale represents.  I like the 20 point scale as the more detailed score.   On this site, I will provide all three, although the most meaningful are the 5 and 20 point ratings.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,178 other followers