Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 18th, 2010

2007 Rabit Ridge Allure de Robles

Appellation: Paso Robles (California)

Tasting Notes: Rhone style blend of Petite Syrah, Syrah, Grenache, and Mourvedre.  15.4% ABV.  Purple velvet color.  Nose is red fruit, a little candy, a little pepper.  Very big red fruit at first, then some pepper, smooth.  A little heat on the back end, nice dry finish.  Might need a little decanting time to calm down, 15.4% alcohol comes through a bit strong for me.  A nice new world interpretation of a Cotes du Rhone blend.  Would certainly be a crowd pleaser.  If I could get this for $8 a bottle, I’d buy a case;  at $15 it’s an OK Wednesday night wine with a roast.

Rating: 3/5, 14/20, 86/100

Price: $14.99 at Bin 604 (Snooth lists this at $7.99, and some folks on Cellartracker say they can get it at Trader Joes for $5, so the price I paid may reflect the high rent of Bin 604)

A note on ratings:  I use the 100 point rating for Cellartracker, even though my palate is still developing.  As a statistics geek, I know that the variability in scores works itself out as the number of scores increases.  However, my score may not be yours, or Robert Parker’s.  I much prefer to use a 5 point (or star, or whatever you want to call it) scale, as it more represents my reaction to wine, which is more simple than a 100 point scale represents.  I like the 20 point scale as the more detailed score.   On this site, I will provide all three, although the most meaningful are the 5 and 20 point ratings.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,181 other followers